Swimming and Diving Cruises Past Western New England, 141-75; Murphy Breaks School Record in the One-Meter Board

Swimming and Diving Cruises Past Western New England, 141-75; Murphy Breaks School Record in the One-Meter Board

South Hadley, Mass. - January 28, 2022 - The Mount Holyoke College swimming and diving team won 12 out of 16 events on Friday evening, as the Lyons defeated Western New England, 141-75, at the MHC Natatorium. Leading Mount Holyoke to the win was senior Kathryn Murphy (Fairport, N.Y.) who broke the school and pool record in the one-meter board.

Murphy broke the one-meter six-dive school record by 8.2 points, posting a score of 289.80. The record was previously held for 19 years by Elena Giordano who scored 281.60 in 2003. Additionally, the senior's mark was a pool record previously set by Emma Petrovich of University of Massachusetts Amherst with a mark of 288.82 from December 4, 2021. 

Of the 12 victories for Mount Holyoke, juniors Erin Schrama (Providence, R.I.) and Anais Magner (Whakatane, New Zealand) and sophomores Eliza Williams (Andover, Mass.) and Evelyn Bushway (Schenectady, N.Y.) all came away with a pair each, as Magner and Bushway were also on the 200 medley relay team that was victorious.  

Mount Holyoke College started off the meet strong with a win in the 200 medley relay as junior Lauren Leese (Round Rock, Texas), Bushway, sophomore Seran Goudsouzian (Hellertown, Pa.), and Magner recorded a winning time of 2:05.83.

Lily Nemirovsky (Bedford, Mass.) claimed her first collegiate victory in the 1000 freestyle as the sophomore finished with a time of 12:10.18. In the 200 freestyle, Williams collected the win in a time of 2:07.31, while Magner posted a first-place finish in the 100 backstroke with a time of 1:05.75. 

In the 100 breaststroke, Schrama notched the victory clocking a time of 1:18.75, followed by Bushway collecting the win in the 200 butterfly with a time of 2:29.83. Senior Caitlyn Richmond (Florence, Mass.) took home a win in the 50 freestyle with a time of 27.00, while Schrama recorded her second win of the evening in the 100 freestyle posting a time of 1:00.04. 

First-year Hannah Heierhoff (Wiesbaden, Germany) finished first in the 200 backstroke with a time of 2:22.40, followed by Williams in the 200 breaststroke recording a time of 2:42.87.

On the diving board, Murphy finished first in her record-breaking one-meter board performance of 289.80. First-year Sophie Simon (Menlo Park, Calif.) got first cut for regional diving on the one-meter board by posting a mark of 256.55. Later in the evening on the three-meter, Murphy claimed another win recording a score of 289.80.

Mount Holyoke returns to action on Saturday, February 5 as the Lyons host NEWMAC competitor Smith College for a 1 p.m. meet.

For the latest updates on Mount Holyoke College Athletics, follow the Lyons on social media on TwitterFacebook, and Instagram. You can also subscribe to our Youtube Channel.