Swimming and Diving Bests Westfield State, 165-124, in Home Opener

Swimming and Diving Bests Westfield State, 165-124, in Home Opener

South Hadley, Mass. - November 13, 2021 - The Mount Holyoke College swimming and diving team hosted their first meet of the 2021-22 season on Saturday afternoon as the Lyons prevailed over Westfield State, 165-124, at the MHC Natatorium.

Starting the day with the 200 medley relay, Mount Holyoke College's team of Anais Magner (Whakatane, New Zealand), Erin Schrama (Providence, R.I.), Adji Diouf (Cedar Rapids, Iowa) and Kamlyn Yosick (Portland, Ore.) took second with a time of 2:02.61, while the team of Gigi Picard (Wilmette, Ill.), Lauren Leese (Round Rock, Texas), Lauren Madsen (Ghent, N.Y.) and Helen Frank (Rochester, N.Y.) took third with a time of 2:09.50.

Sophomore Evelyn Bushway (Schenectady, N.Y.) won the 1000 freestyle with a time of 12:18.15, finishing ahead of Lily Nemirovsky (Bedford, Mass.), who clocked a time of 12:37.89, and Emily Tarinelli (Groton, Conn.), who touched in 12:59.17. Sophomore Eliza Williams (Andover, Mass.) was second in the 200 freestyle with a time of 2:08.55, finishing just ahead of first-year Hannah Heierhoff (Wiesbaden, Germany), who clocked in at 2:10.15.

In the 50 backstroke, Diouf emerged victorious with a time of 30.32 seconds, finishing ahead of Magner, who was second with a time of 31.66 and Yosick, who produced a time of 32.22 seconds. In the 50 breaststroke, Madsen finished second with a time of 35.95 seconds, just ahead of Leese, who clocked in at 36.32 seconds.

Heierhoff would then win the 100 butterfly with a time of 1:05.24, while Tarinelli produced a third-place finish with a time of 1:10.29. Yosick then won the 50 freestlye with a time of 26.20 seconds, finishing ahead of Megan Schneider (Newton, Mass.), who clocked in at 26.49 seconds and Schrama, who took third with a time of 27.07 seconds.

The meet then shifted to one-meter diving, where Kathryn Murphy (Fairport, N.Y.) won with a nationally-qualifying score of 262.12, followed by Sophie Simon (Menlo Park, Calif.), who was second with a time of 226.64. Lilje Stratton (Bellevue, Wash.) was third with a mark of 203.25.

In the 100 freestyle, Diouf was second with a time of 58.89 seconds and Schneider was third with a time of 59.73 seconds. Leese was the Lyons' top finisher in the 100 backstroke, clocking a time of 1:07.81, just ahead of Magner's third-place time of 1:09.35. Bushway was the runner up in the 100 breaststroke with a time of 1:15.73, while Schrama was third with a time of 1:18.28. 

In the 500 freestyle, Williams took second with a time of 5:46.59, just ahead of Heierhoff, who turned in a third-place time of 5:46.98. Yosick won her second event of the day as the first-year clocked a time of 29.73 seconds in the 50 butterfly, ahead of Tarinelli, who took third with a time of 30.82 seconds. 

Three-meter diving was next as Murphy won again, posting another nationally-qualifying score of 265.64, while Simon was second with a mark of 228.59. Stratton was third once again with a score of 182.70.

Wrapping up the meet was the 200 individual medley where Bushway posted a meet-best time of 2:25.60, and the 200 freestyle relay, where the team of Schneider, Heierhoff, Tarinelli and Bushway had the top time of 1:50.64.

Up next, Mount Holyoke will travel to Wellesley for a 1 p.m. meet on Saturday, November 20.

For the latest updates on Mount Holyoke College Athletics, follow the Lyons on social media on TwitterFacebook, and Instagram. You can also subscribe to our Youtube Channel.