Swimming and Diving Falls to Wellesley in Dual Meet

Swimming and Diving Falls to Wellesley in Dual Meet

Wellesley, Mass. - November 20, 2021 - Senior diver Kathryn Murphy (Fairport, N.Y.) won both diving events, but the Mount Holyoke College swimming and diving team fell to New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC) foe Wellesley College 174-115 in a dual meet with the Blue at Chandler Pool on Saturday afternoon.

Wellesley College won the opening 400 medley relay but the team of Lauren Leese (Round Rock, Texas), Evelyn Bushway (Schenectady, N.Y.), Emily Tarinelli (Groton, Conn.) and Megan Schneider (Newton, Mass.) finished fifth with a time of 4:35.81. Eliza Williams (Andover, Mass.) was the Lyons' top performer in the 1000 freestyle, taking third with a time of 11:41.62. 

Next was the 200 freestyle, where Adrienne Corr (San Diego, Calif.) turned in a team-best time of 2:16.12, followed by Tarinelli who posted a time of 2:17.07. In the 100 backstroke, Adji Diouf (Cedar Rapids, Iowa) finished fourth with a time of 1:07.23, while in the 100 breaststroke, Williams was the Lyons' top finisher with a time of 1:18.47. Hannah Heierhoff (Wiesbaden, Germany) won the 200 butterfly with a time of 2:25.54 while Bushway was runner-up with a time of 2:32.18. Schneider was third in the 50 freestyle with a time of 26.24 seconds, finishing just ahead of Diouf's fourth-place time of 27.27 seconds.

Murphy won the one-meter diving with a nationally-qualifying score of 270.25, while Sophie Simon (Menlo Park, Calif.) took second with a mark of 243.25. Lilje Stratton (Bellevue, Wash.) was third with a score of 216.80. 

Schneider was Mount Holyoke's top swimmer in the 100 freestyle with a time of 58.66 seconds, while in the 200 backstroke, Leese was fifth with a time of 2:31.48. Bushway took fourth in the 200 breaststroke with a time of 2:46.09 while in the 500 freestyle, Williams was third with a time of 5:45.20. Heierhoff was fourth in the 100 butterfly with a time of 1:05.17 before the three-meter diving break.

Murphy won the three-meter board as well with a score of 234.50. Next was Stratton's mark of 226.10 while Simon was third with a score of 200.10.

Heierhoff posted a time of 2:28.12 in the 200 individual medley to lead the Lyons before the team of Diouf, Lauren Madsen (Ghent, N.Y.), Schneider and Williams combined for Mount Holyoke's top time of 1:46.53 in the 200 freestyle relay to close out the meet.

The Lyons will now turn their attention to a January 11 meet versus Vassar and Trinity at 1 p.m. The meet will take place at Trinity College.

For the latest updates on Mount Holyoke College Athletics, follow the Lyons on social media on TwitterFacebook, and Instagram. You can also subscribe to our Youtube Channel