Field hockey rakes in NHFCA academic honors

Field hockey rakes in NHFCA academic honors

GENEVA, N.Y. -- The Mount Holyoke College field hockey team earned the NFHCA National Academic Team Award, with a team grade point average that nearly put the Lyons among the top five teams in Division III, as announced Tuesday by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association.

Mount Holyoke's team GPA for the Fall 2022 semester was 3.75, just .04 behind the fifth-highest team GPA in Division III.

The NFHCA also announced its Division III National Academic Squad, which honors undergraduate collegiate student-athletes who have achieved a cumulative grade-point average of 3.5 or higher through the first semester of the current academic year. Thirteen Lyons received that honor, headed by four-time honoree and senior captain Phoebe Aaronson (Mountain View, Calif.).

Additionally, four team members recieved Division III Scholars of Distinction honors, which recognizes student-athletes who have achieved a GPA of 3.9 or higher through the first semester of the 2022-23 academic year. Winning that honor from Mount Holyoke were first-year Anna Induni (Manchester, N.H.), sophomore Rachel Katzenberg (Reisterstown, Md.), junior Amanda Thibodeau (Lebanon, N.H.), and sophomore Gracie Wilkinson (Amherst, Mass.).

Mount Holyoke student-athletes named to the Division III National Academic Squad were Aaronson, senior Kylie Brooks (Oceanside, Calif.), first-year Hannah Ehrlich (Columbia, Md.), junior Cecilia Field (Burlington, Vt.), sophomore Sophia Guziewicz (Enfield, N.H.), Induni, Katzenberg, first-year Emma Moore (New Milford, Conn.), first-year Kellyn Norman (Franklinton, N.C.), Thibodeau, junior Caroline Thompson (Harwich, Mass.), first-year Taylor Vettori (Etna, N.H.), and Wilkinson.