College Squash Association

CSA Logo The College Squash Association (CSA) is the collective name for the Men’s College Squash Association (MCSA) and the Women’s College Squash Association (WCSA). The MCSA and the WCSA are the governing bodies for intercollegiate squash in the United States. For more information about the CSA, please visit

Squash is a racquet sport played by two players in a four-walled court with a small rubber ball.  Since the early 1900s, squash has been played at colleges and universities in North America.

In March of 1931, the Intercollegiate Squash Racquets Association, later known as the National Intercollegiate Squash Racquets Association (NISRA), was founded.  This association, which eventually became the MCSA, was initially led by students. In the 1950s, control of the association was transferred to coaches. Today, the MCSA is led by an Executive Committee of college coaches.

The WCSA is also led by an Executive Committee of college coaches.  The Women’s Intercollegiate Squash Racquets Association, the original name for the WCSA, was established in 1970.  In 1973, the first women’s national team championship was held.

As the governing body for intercollegiate squash, the CSA ranks players and teams, establishes and enforces rules, hosts annual individual and team championships, and archives college squash history. There are approximately 60 men’s and 40 women’s collegiate squash programs in the United States.  The CSA is dedicated to growing college squash.